Today we’re starting a new series meeting active girls from around the world. First up we’ve been talking to 15 year old Lola Lecoq, artistic gymnast from Hyeres in the South of France.

Tell us about where you live?

Hyeres is a beautiful town in the French Riviera. The old town is super beautiful with its historic monuments and panoramic views of the city and the sea. My home is just a five minutes from the beach and we’re lucky to have two terraces to make the most of the sun, as well as a trampoline in the garden. My gym is about 15 minutes from home so it’s not too far to travel.

How often do you train?

I train every day of the week for around three hours a day. I also love to practice some of my skill on the beach – it’s so much fun.

What’s your favourite gymnastics skill?

I love a double back on the floor, yurchenko on the vault and also a double front and full full.

What does your daily routine look like?

I start school at 8am and finish at either 3pm or 4pm, afterwards I go to training until around 7pm. When I get home at night I try to relax by watching TV or catching up on social media. My favourite show to watch is Raising the Bars, a gymnastics movie or Dance Academy.  

What gymnastics competitions do you have coming up?

Our season starts in December when I have the first test of the year and then from the end of January I will have at least two competitions a month. I usually do around eight competitions a year. I absolutely love to compete – it’s what I train for after all.

Do you have a gym goal?

I’d love to win a medal in the French Championships with my team. Last year we came fourth – we were so close. Maybe this year!!

What do you do outside of the gym?

I love to spend time with my family. We love to go for nice walks, spend time at the beach but to be honest I love spending time at the gym the most.

What advice would you give to your fellow gymnasts around the world?

Always listen to the advice your coach is giving and learn from your mistakes.

If you didn’t do gymnastics what sport would you choose?

I’d love to try ice skating.

What do you do to treat yourself?

I love to eat ice cream – my favourite flavour is lemon