Gymnastics in the sun

Gymnastics in the sun

With endless days of warm sunshine, some of the of world’s most beautiful beaches and a relaxed, fun lifestyle, it’s little wonder so many of us dream of emigrating to Australia. But what’s it like to be a gymnast down under. We’ve been chatting to 12-year-old Tahlia Hodzic, A WAG, level 7 gymnast from Brisbane in Queensland who gives us a flavour of her life in a leotard.  

Tell us about your training

I train 16+ hours a week which is quite intense but I love it. I leave home at 8am and start school by 8.20am. I have an agreement with the school that I can leave early on gym days - we live quite far from the gym so I have to travel a little to make it there on time. Training starts at 3.30pm and finishes at 7.30 pm. It takes me a while to get home so I often eat dinner in the car! By the time I get home and have a shower and by then it’s usually pretty late so it’s time for bed.

Do you have any medals you are particularly proud of?

I’m proud of all of my medals for different reasons. But one in particular means a lot. It was from a long time ago but it taught me a lot about myself. I came third all around but I had a disaster on bars which was my very first apparatus. I felt really sad at the time but my coach told me that you can never ever give up. So I performed the best I’ve ever done on my final three events and placed third. It still means a lot to me because I know if I had given up I would never have placed and it reminds me that you have to be strong mentally. 

What’s your goal for the rest of the year

To keep improving and to progress to level 8.

What do you like to do away from gymnastics?

I love designing leotards!! I’m also an ambassador for GMD and The Little Gym Shop so that keeps me busy too.

What advice would you offer any other gymnast?

To never forget that it’s “you” vs “you”. And also to have fun!! Because if it’s not fun, then there’s no sense in doing it!

What's special about gymnastics in Australia?

I think gymnastics is very similar here to other parts of the world. One of the things I love about it is that it’s a supportive environment. It’s a small world and we all care and support each other no matter what club you represent. 

If you had to choose one other sport what would it be?

Tough one! I love dancing, and I’ve always wanted to ice skate!

What's your favourite meal to enjoy either before or after training?

I am actually a healthy eater. I love all fruit, especially blueberries and mangoes. 

What do you do to treat yourself?

I love gelati!